Don?t Know Nuffink

By Mrski1

New Car!

Today I headed oop north to near Elgin to view a car. I have been looking for something to replace my Leon with something less thirsty, due to the miles I cover the Leon costs me a fortune even if I drive slowly.

So the brief was simple, diesel, estate (for the bikes and stuff), and reliable, I thought this would be easy but the amount of cars I had to choose from around Aberdeen was very limited. I originally thought about a Volvo V70, but struggled to find any within a reasonable distance and price, then a Focus estate, but it wasn't much bigger than the hatch and again there were none local, the others I considered were an Astra estate, Saab 9-5 and Mazda 6, none of which I could find locally.

Just by chance I came across this Octavia on Autotrader (which happens to have an awful new site), it is not the type of car I would usually see myself driving but after a quick trip to the dealer I was surprised at how good it was. To drive it is very similar to my other VW group car, the Seat Leon, but only much more comfortable and refined, perfect for the distance I drive.

We made the rip up to Elgin after work, and viewed the car in the previous owners garage, for a 5 year old car it is very clean, after the test drive I was convinced it was the car for me and the deal was done.

On the drive back home I managed to average 56 mpg, compare this to the 32 I can manage from my Leon and I should be in for a saving, then there is the lower tax and insurance which will lower my motoring costs further, hopefully it proves to be reliable as the Seat has been.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.