We're Just Waiting ...

I was due in town by 10 for a meeting with the insurers for our new studio. Previously both of us had just included the photography in with the insurance for our other businesses. Just enough time to have lunch before I needed to be back at The Mother’s in time to give her lunch before the social worker arrived.

I thought Social Services were coming today to tell the mother that she had a place in care, but no. More forms to be filled in to make sure she really needed a placement. There was much crying (by me) as it seemed so hard to pass the criteria for Social Care. I hadn't meant to let The Mother see how stressed I was, but I couldn't help it. Whenever I helped to provide an answer about The Mother’s level of need, she fought back with a resolution to get better and exaggerated claims of what she could do.

I gave her a meal and came home for a few hours to get over it.

When I went back to spend the night at her house, The Mother said she may have misunderstood the reason for the social workers visit. She thought the better she made out she was, the more likely the care home would take her in! “No, Mother, quite the reverse!” I doubt if they will consider funding her now.

So now we're just waiting for the outcome but, thank goodness, I have #2 Daughter coming down soon to give me a spell off and let me attend a show.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.