Keith B

By keibr

Grumpy old man?

Today we were checking the sailing boat is Ok and it was (more-or-less). It was a quick trip because we are off to southern Sweden tomorrow. We are staying in a small course center, owned by the Quakers, a few kilometers from Stockholm airport.
We'll be studying and training Tai Chi, together with Zen meditation and for me this will be the first time I've done either of these things, though Qi Gong and Tai Chi are related.
On the way home from the boat we stopped at the tourist office. I was slightly bemused by the mixture of languages on the front of the building. "Hantverk" is handicraft (handwork literally). It seemed strange to call the whole show "Happy Hantverk". I'm not usually a language snob, quite the opposite actually, but mixing Swedish and English in an effort to be cool irritates me for some reason. Perhaps I'm becoming a grumpy old man?
The building to the right is Nordingrå church. Both the church and the tourist office are worth visiting if you are passing by. There's a lot of printed information in the tourist office, which is lucky because the young woman behind the counter was profoundly unhelpful at suggesting activities in the area. Ooops, there I go again, more grumpy old man stuff!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.