Ann's ramblings

By atocher

6 Months

6 months ago today I started on a journey (quite a long one in miles as it turned out) to take back control of my body, to lose weight and to become healthier and fitter. I had put on a lot of weight over the past 12 years or so, and the thought of dieting to lose so many pounds just seemed like an almost impossible task.

I had been thinking long and hard about it for a long time, trying to come up with the best way for me to achieve my goals. I'm not one for joining clubs and baring my soul to people I don't know, so organisations like Weight Watchers were not for me.

I'd been seeing friends lose weight and get fitter using body monitors linked to apps on their phones, and I suddenly realised that this might work for me too. I love my iPhone and I love gadgets, so I was suddenly sure that this could be the answer to all of my problems.

My lovely hubby bought me a Withings Pulse for Christmas and I set up my iPhone with the Withings Healthmate app (which links with our Withings scales over wifi) and the MyFitnessPal app.

So 6 months ago today I put on my new walking shoes and opened the door to go out walking. It was pouring with rain and it was cold, but I had psyched myself up so much that I went out anyway. I walked for 2 miles and it was tough! I was so unfit.

I've never looked back though. Since that day I've gone out walking almost every day. I now walk at least 5 miles a day and sometimes as far as 8 miles. Almost unbelievably I've walked over 850 miles in 6 months. I eat a healthy diet and have so far lost 47lbs/21.3 kilos and dropped 2 dress sizes. I've still a ways to go but already I feel better and much happier. I have amazed myself!

I'm looking forward to continuing on my journey and plan to mostly Blip photos that I take when I'm out walking. I have discovered so many things right on our doorstep.

It seemed appropriate for this, my first Blip, to post a pic of my poor battered walking shoes. The soles are so worn already. Never in a million years did I imagine that would happen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.