Butterfingers

By Lilyrex

2....

Continued.....

Have you ever noticed that when people start a sentence with 'Now, I don't mean to be rude, but...', they're about to hit you with the biggest insult ever?

Marta's business partner Amy, was concerned about her. 'I don't want you to think I'm interfering, but I really think you have to do something about your life,' she said, waving a kitchen knife around. (They were cutting up the ingredients for a Spanish themed birthday party that afternoon. Paella for 24 involved a lot of chopping.) 'What are you actually interested in? Outside of work, I mean.'

Marta thought for a moment. 'I dunno. Writing maybe. Photography. But please, don't suggest evening classes. You never meet anyone there.'

'You do. All the magazines say so. But if you don't fancy that, then what about an online course? Or you could join that photography thing my Aidan does. You upload one photo a day, and then write something to go with it.'

Marta rolled her eyes and continued chopping. 'Yeah, sounds riveting. I'm going to really improve my social life that way.'

'I don't mean to sound like a know all,' said Amy.' but you'd be surprised....'



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.