Power of Trompe l'oeil

The week has started off well so far.. first off all my doctor text me to say all the blood tests I had done the other week all came back normal. Then I got a call from the garage to say my car was ready. What they found was.. when I got my new battery in last year by the AA they hadn't tightened the connections correctly and has caused the wire to the gearbox to corrode. That now is all fixed.. hopefully!

After picking up my car I took a short walk around the city and thought I would do a update on this art work on the former Trinity Church I blipped the other week done by Mike Hewson. This is a shot of what the art work that is on the back of the former Trinity Church.



Here is another one of Mike Hewson's works called 'Homage To Lost Spaces' (Government Life Building Studios) is also a tribute to a group of fellow artists who were working in the Government Life Building overlooking Cathedral Square on February 22, 2011.

Hewson was sharing a studio with his brother, Andrew, when the magnitude- 6.3 earthquake demolished the tower of the neighbouring Christ Church Cathedral and forced them to flee.

He was not alone. The building housed other Christchurch artists who lost studio space and work. The figures of many, including Tony de Lautour, Sam Harrison and David Marshall now inhabit the boarded window and roof spaces on the earthquake-battered Gothic Revival facade of Cranmer Courts.


also This is other one of his works. This one was on the former Cranmer Court which now has been demolished.

Here is a article on the Artist.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.