Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Sunday's Odyssey

I was going to pick up my mom for church but I was supposed to have been there at 8:40 am but knew I was going to be late.

I flew out of my house and into my red Honda Civic, throwing caution to the wind and pulling quickly out of the driveway, thinking foolishly that I would put my seat belt on as I drove.

Rounding the corner to drive down the steep, wide, curving hill from my house, I rapidly gained speed, revving the car up to at least 50 mph/80 kph.  There were two items on the passenger's seat.  I tossed one into the back seat with my right hand.  Then as I tossed the second, it got caught on the seat.

With only my left hand on the steering wheel, the car veered sharply to the right, hitting the curb and throwing the car slightly off the ground.  My head was thrown violently upwards against the roof of the car.

The Civic then began to swerve wildly down the hill at an increasing rate of speed but I was able to keep enough wits about me to get the car under control by the time it got to the bottom of the hill.

I picked up my mom and got to church.  But before Mass began asked  her to call for an ambulance because I was in such pain.  We went to the Urgent Care Center instead.  Three hours into our visit there, they called an ambulance and sent me to the Emergency room, anyway, because they felt I needed a CT scan.

Bottom line was that the CT was negative and the diagnoses was a brain concussion, sprained/strained neck and tension headache.

I may have to keep a lot of ice, heat, Tylenol and anti-vomit medicine handy for a while. There  is  quite a lot of pain and I have limited neck mobility.  It's worse this morning than it was yesterday.

Blurry vision is a problem so I hope this Anna's Hummingbird is somewhat in focus.

I wish everyone a good day.  Mine might be more painful than it started out yesterday but I am glad God was behind the wheel.

I will always wear my seat belt!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.