Not another puppy picture.....

Evening all. I've never had a puppy though in my time I've certainly played with some delightful ones ..... I am therefore delighted to report that dear Poppy the puppy has arrived in our lives with every bit of puppy behaviour you can imagine. I write this as I notice she's sniffing and licking my beer bottle!

Puppies are clearly not short of personality as well as the ability to poo and wee like there is no tomorrow. It's funny how your view on certain concrete things can change. As a child and even to a man in his 30's there would have been no / zero / zilch chance of me wanting a smelly taking up all my time hard work puppy. Now, bring it on! Weird eh!

I think Poppy will bring many things into my life and here's my top 5:

1. I will conveniently lose my sense of smell to be able to cope with the constant whiff of the unspeakable
2. I need to lose my hearing so as to avoid the sound of the hound through every god given waking hour
3. I will conveniently pull muscles so as to make my refusals to puppy dog face more acceptable when she is panting to play hide and seek on the garden for the 28th time
4. I will develop a convenient hoarseness so as to excuse me from mindless chatter with other dog walkers as we all try to pretend we are not actually holding a bag of poo
5. I will accept Poppy's ridiculous love for me freely and not be disappointed that everyone else does not love me in the same way.

On that last point I would suggest that would it not be wondrous if everyone in my day treated me like Poppy! What a day of constant joy and excitement that would be.

I should add that we can learn a lot from puppies and would do well to take on certain traits of their characters such as wonderful energy, the way they skip and jump with gay abandon, the way they stretch out and sleep in luxury! Certain puppy behaviour exclusions such as bum sniffing would need to be outlawed, particularly at public places for obvious reasons.

So today I rejoice in my new found stinky pal Poppy the puppy. May she always be adorable and within days, not weeks, stop certain poor habits.

A X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.