Holiday Book Review - 2

Holiday Book Club Review - number 2!

The Lighthouse by Alison Moore

I picked this book on a whim from Waterstones as I like to do with music & books. Not so much with clothes. I get the book/CD in my hands and sometimes they just say 'Anthony, I'm right for you. Take me home.' A little forward I grant you, but it's a request I rarely refuse.

Sometimes this random choice is an absolute treat. Music successes includes Iron & Wine, Kate Walsh, Carla Bruni, James David Souther, McDonald & Giles. Authors I chanced & marvelled on include Walter Mosley, Ethan Hawke, Murakami, Anthony Capella, Esther Freud.

Of course by the same therum I ended up wearing pink socks everyday & making myself look ridiculous but hey, I just write this stuff....,

And so to The Lighthouse & was this a wise call?

It was. It scared the pants off me. It menaced with an unspoken mystery from the off and I immediately started the journey with an uneasy feeling that just got worse. The books hero Futh finds no glory and the book ends in an almost inevitable question of potential horror.

It's a modern classic & most probably best avoided on holiday....

The book is based on a holiday though which sounds jolly, but it isn't... It plays backwards & forwards on memories that Futh just keeps coming back to as the walking he does frees or enslaves his mind.

Alison Moore - congratulations. You have written a quote extraordinary book of spine tingling chill and splendour.

The next holiday book review is The Bluebird Cafe by Rebecca Smith.

A

X


The photo is my one of my many super nephews. This particular fine fellow had a rather special day & it was our extreme pleasure to be there for him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.