Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Ruthie

Ruthie and I have spotted each other often at events organized by Portland’s unhoused community, but today was the first time we had a chance to get acquainted. As we talked, we kept gasping in wonder because our stories are so similar. We grew up as military kids, moving often; our step-fathers were difficult; we were both introverts who had trouble always being the “new kid” in school; we loved to read. She, like me, supported herself for some years as a medical transcriptionist. She is the single mom of one son. She’s an adventurer, a dreamer, an idealist. Her heart has gotten her into a world of trouble. Her own period of homelessness came after a failed relationship, when medical issues made it impossible for her to work. Throughout her hard times, she never let go of two things: her camera and her hair.

She was diagnosed with breast cancer last year, but she laughed, “It was a minor issue, really.” She got surgery and radiation. “I told them I wasn’t having chemo. It took me years to grow my hair, and I love my hair. I’m old. I’ll go if I have to, but I’m going with my hair.”

Now she has housing and health care, and she is assembling a life again. She knows many of the street people I know, and she gave me joyful updates on some of our friends who are living indoors now, some who have found jobs, some who are in love, and some who have been reunited with their children.

Ruthie moved to Portland in 2010 but has never had a car here, so she had never seen Sauvie Island. I showed her all my favorite places, even though they are only accessible by car. We’ll go back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.