... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Clapham Common: Tufted Ducks in Flight

Taking flight in large ("L").

I went to Clapham Common first thing this morning as there was no wind so I was hoping to film birds for my project... Hmmm, 3 hours from 6AM and not a single bird cruised past. I knew that it'd be especially challenging on the common (birds tend to cruise from A to B: from tower to tower or tree to tree, or along rivers, say) but I was still hoping to get a few lucky shots. I did enjoy filming swifts scooping insects from the surface of the boating pond in slow motion, but they certainly weren't cruising. Frustrating: there are so few windless days that it felt like a bit of a waste of one...

ANYWAY, I had fun taking photographs, and it was a beautiful morning.
I really struggled to choose my blip today as I also went to Wandsworth Common in the afternoon (for the first time since my previous vac.).


Blip alternatives:
Juvenile robin
Magpie iridescence (and others to the right)
Preening coot (and others to the left)

Others:
Juvenile robin (right from here)
Wandsworth Common Egyptian geese & goslings (right from here)
Heron on Clapham Common (right from here)
Mallardlings on the boating pond (right from here)
Tufted ducks on the boating pond (right from here)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.