One step at a time!

By IanO

Room with a view (of sorts)!

Left Wales bathed in glorious sunshine, kissed the beautiful Geordiepam goodbye at Chester station. Was told off (very politely) for chatting to a chap in the 'quietzone' on the train. A very uneventful journey.

Then my arrival in Milton Keynes... first off it was pouring with rain, but at least there were plenty of taxis.
Me: The Holiday Inn please.
Taxi driver: Which one? There's three
Me: (Fumbling with the email on my phone) It's the one on Saxon Gate
Taxi driver: OK no problem

We were there in ten minutes and being as I live in Wales I had a little haggle over the price and got 40p knocked off (in reality he had no change).

A very nice hotel, I thought as I walked up to reception, but so it should be for the price.
Me: I have a reservation
Receptionist: Your booking reference please sir.
Me: Yes its 1726252
Receptionist: (rather sheepishly) I'm very sorry sir but the hotel booking system has had some problems and we are overbooked! We have an alternative room for you just down the road.
Me: Hmmm
Receptionist: (with a big smile) You can leave your car in our car park if you like.
Me: Hmmm came by train, no car and its pouring with rain.
Receptionist: No problem I'll get you a taxi and we'll pay for it (I think she was relieved that I wasn't the type to kick off).

So here I am at a marginally cheaper hotel that turns out to be even closer to our meeting tomorrow, literally next door - result!

I hope it's quiet here and I'll report on the breakfast tomorrow :-)

PS Can you tell I'm in a hotel room on my own - I've nearly written as much as Roz :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.