middaypyjamas

By middaypyjamas

Cold Caterpillar

I had breakfast in bed this morning. Granted I had to make it, and had to get out of bed to do so, but as soon as I had finished cooking I got straight back in to bed to eat it. Scrambled eggs on toast with a coffee. I figured if I’m lucky enough to be in a position where things like breakfast in bed is a possibility, since I had no where else to go today, then I should make the most of it.

I don’t know if it was because I allowed myself a luxurious morning or, since I’m an infrequent coffee drinker, the caffeine from my breakfast beverage but I found myself full of energy. I decided to put it towards a good purpose and did a nice chunk of work for my screenplay and then went for a run. As the blip for today indicates it was a wet one here in Melbourne town and I found this caterpillar taking the brunt of it as I was cooling down from the run.

In the afternoon I watched the 1993 film Dazed and Confused. It was very enjoyable, I really liked how Richard Linklater doesn’t give you what you expect in the way of the bigger cliche’ hollywood moments but instead delivers a more subdued outcome to setups that feel a lot more like real life. It also had a young Matthew McConaughey in it delivering lines like ‘Alright, alright, alright’, and who doesn’t like that?

I then did some more writing, this time some actual screenwriting. I’ve started something I’ve been meaning to do for a while, I call it ‘A Scene A Day'. Basically this just involves me writing a scene about anything, anyone, and for any length in order to practise and increase my skills. The scenes don’t have to involve the same characters or be connected in anyway I just think of a location, some characters, a set up and a conflict they may have. It was fun, but proved to be more difficult than I was expecting. I take this as a good thing though because by doing this everyday I’ll hopefully be flexing the metaphorical muscle involved with this kind of imagination and writing and improve as I go. Not sure if I’ll share them in some web way yet but I may if I get enthused enough to do so.

- Damian

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.