Arcade Fire...

I can't say that I'm a big fan of Arcade Fire but they did put on a pretty good show on the Pyramid Stage which is just as well since we totally missed Elbow! Doh! Play was thwarted by thunder and lightening and the rumour some miles away in the campervan field was that everything was running an hour behind. The moral of that story is that you should never listen to the Glasto rumour mill!! We arrived halfway through their last song.... fuds!

Still... there's so much to see and so many people that the best view is probably from your sofa to your TV (which I subsequently did on my return home so all was not lost) and I remained dry for the whole set! Perhaps that is the way to do Glastonbury but I can't help feeling that you lose the general mood of the crowd regardless of the weather.

The one thing that sticks out a mile at Glastonbury is the atmosphere. I've never experienced anything like it before. The massive number of people from all sorts of backgrounds and they're all chattering to strangers, having a giggle with each other and every single person is smiling. If only we could carry that vibe into every day life then the world would be a happier place. I didn't witness a cross word the whole time, I didn't see any trouble at all and the police seemed to be sauntering round taking it all in. The Eavis family must be incredibly proud to have created such an event and for this to be the 44th year is incredible.

The long walk back to the campervan field is a different experience every day, sometimes twice a day but that would be my only gripe. You need to be organised to get anywhere in time and you need to leave two hours in advance to walk the hour long stroll (uphill on the return) into the festival. However, I'm pretty sure it's a sacrifice I'd make again simply to have my own loo!

Oh... and I should have added yesterday a massive congratulations to my parents who celebrated their golden wedding anniversary. 50 years is ridiculously impressive! I love you both! x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.