Recharging...

I love this photo. I didn't disturb but it's a shame she didn't see it.

It occurred to me that perhaps it was wrong to take a photo of someone when they're asleep and unaware. Perhaps not so much for this pic, more the one of the two lads in their pants, sound asleep in their tent with the door wide open, flapping in the wind and surrounded by what I can only describe as carnage. I'll spare their dignity.

Mainly because I think this girl is beautiful. We don't tell each other enough that we're beautiful. We're too busy picking the faults in ourselves and in others. We all do it. If we don't, can someone tell me why it's too easy to believe the bad stuff? I've spent the weekend not actually giving fuck what I look like. Okay, maybe I tried to look presentable but when you've not stood under running water for a few days, you get past the stage of really giving as much of a fuck as you would when you're at home. I often wear things I wouldn't wear at home when I'm away and I really don't know why.

We spend time judging others. There's a difference between being judgemental of others in my mind. We can make judgement calls on the impression we're given. It got me thinking that perhaps we should take into account other people's perceptions of us more often. It's like photographs. I see photos of myself and I loathe them. That's not the person I see in the mirror. How is that reality so different if a camera doesn't lie and which version is it that other people see? My guess would be that others see us as the camera does. The only difference being that they like what they see and we prefer the mirror image. I'm fairly sure that I'm going to get to the end of my life and there really will not be enough photos of me kicking around. I take a million shots of myself before I find one that I like. How can someone else take three and nail it? In my eyes they can't.

Pixel8 took photos of me a while back and I hated them all. They've remained hidden in an envelope and I found them when I had a clearout in a couple of weeks... look at me predicting the future! I looked at them again. Out of four, there's one that I don't hate as much as I do the others. It's still not really how I view myself but I'm going to leave it out. I want to see if it grows on me.

I'm rambling now but I'm about three weeks behind. I'd apologise but I'm not really sorry. I've been busy. Thinking. Doing. Being.

Go tell someone they're beautiful. x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.