CoffeePotter

By CoffeePotter

A Bridge too long

I blipped this same aqueduct on 13th January. I went back today as it's almost 6 months since I visited, and I just wanted to get out of the office at lunchtime.

Unfortunately there were no narrow boats about (apart from one that was moored up just along from the aqueduct, but it wasn't at all picturesque) so I have taken almost the same scene again. I thought I'd look to back to see if my technique has improved, and I'm afraid the answer is "no". I thought I'd try with another mono seeing as it's a sort of "industrial" blip.

As I mentioned before, the aqueduct (the longest in England) crosses a road, (the road I drive to work along) a railway line that is still in use, and also the trackbed of the former Alcester Railway. There used to be a pipe leading from the side of the canal for trains engines to draw water to fill the their tanks.

It is one of the stations of the Alcester Railway that we live at now, so trains would have stopped in what is now our garden, continued to Spencer's Crossing (where a friend and her husband live) and then on to the aqueduct in order to top up their water.

That would have been a great short-cut to the office!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.