CoffeePotter

By CoffeePotter

21st Century Shakespeares?

This is the front of Shakespeare’s Birthplace in Stratford (on Avon, not E15).

The 2014 Stratford Poetry Festival began about a week ago and carries on for one month. All of these pieces of paper attached to the fence outside the Birthplace are poems written by children from schools across the district.

The subject for the primary school children was “Rivers, canals and boats” and for secondary schools it was “Thankful villages – World War 1”.

The one that stood out to me you can see hanging just past the vertical post (if you zoom in). It is a drawing of a lamb’s face weeping red tears, and the title is “Like lambs to the slaughter”. This work was by a 15 year old – the same age as quite a few of the volunteers who signed up whilst telling fibs about their age.

It was lovely to see all of these poems, and quite a few people pausing to read them.

I have a day off today, and spent half the morning re-counting all of the cash that was taken on Friday evening at the village BBQ. The problem now is that I can barely lift the bag off the ground, and I need to get it banked. There’s a hole in our wheelbarrow so don’t suggest that!

P.S. Since I wrote the above I managed to stagger to the car with the bag and drive into town, where remarkably I was able to park about 20 yards from the bank! Almost £2,200 mainly in change successfully banked! Mind you, my hands are now dragging on the floor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.