Queen Anne's Lace III, "Fireworks" Phase

OK I admit it. As I near my two year anniversary with Blipfoto, I now find myself involved in a double obsession (or an obsession within an obsession). I have become obsessed with the life cycle of Queen Anne's Lace. Today's shot is of the opening bud; still not quite a full bloom, arms stretching out into what I think of as the "fireworks" phase because of its resemblance to those starbursts in the sky, each cluster of blossoms a miniature copy of the full flower.

I stopped and parked near my favorite spot for Queen Anne's Lace on my way home from Pilates class this morning. I didn't discover that my camera battery was still in the charger at home until I had walked up the footpath. I walked back to the car and fetched my iPhone and took some shots with it. All in all, in what was supposed to be a time saving move, I wound up wasting devoting a lot of time to the project, and got home with nothing to show for my efforts.

The guys ground away all morning at the remains of the pool, which was constructed more like Fort Knox (thank you, Lady F) than a simple shallow pool. What was supposed to take half a day is now stretching toward the third day.

OilMan was supposed to take Ozzie for a walk, but got involved in aphid wars in the garden, and forgot all about Ozzie. I took him for a walk to another stand of Queen Anne's Lace, this time remembering to put the battery back in my camera.

In case you are growing tired of Queen Anne's Lace, I give you fair warning. There are probably two or three days more for the full cycle….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.