My Photographic Footprint

By Theodora8

A Paper Jewel

On Sunday I am a guest speaker at a poetry day. The theme is Land & Sleep.

I have had great fun looking for such poems in: libraries, on the net and in the books around the house.

This dear little book ( and it is little, a bit larger than a credit card) has already been blipped, in the Dusty Corner shot.
A twitter friend suggested Gray. So I had a good look inside this near at hand volume.

Once again blipfoto has opened my eyes. I mean, I just had to have a long look at it.

It was printed in 1805.
The type was hand set from hot lead. It has wobbly bits. The letters The Author have that John Bull printing set look about them. The cover of course is lovely, tooled leather.

What was the printer wearing when he did this 205 years ago, was he young or old?
And who was Fanny Carew, who wrote her name on the page so beautifully.

I have so enjoyed gazing at this book, not just for the poetry, and the interesting biography included, but for the book it's self.

Thank you again blipfoto.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.