Penguin Droppings

By gen2

L B J (Probably a Linnet)

I took this Little Brown Job this afternoon on rocks beside a loch in Fife. At the time, I thought I was photographing a bunting but now I have been able to check against my bird-book, I find it doesn't match anything there. Some of these LBJs are still a mystery to me and this is one of them.

NB. - The dark beneath its chin is just the shadow of its bill.

Characteristics:
sparrow sized
Chunky bill
speckled brown crown
dark eye stripe
pale cheek
white streaks on wings
white edge to tail feathers

Many thanks if anyone can point me in the right direction for an ID.
Probably something obvious that I have overlooked.

Thank you to janepetleyjones's husband who suggested a Linnet.
I am now satisfied that that is indeed what this bird is.

The common linnet, Carduelis cannabina



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.