Wildflowers

Every morning on my way to Dollar Summer school I pass this colourful grass verge of wildflowers.
It's on the edge of Menstrie, the first of the small towns in the foothills of The Ochil mountains. At first I thought it was natural but on closer inspection I could see its been planted by a caring community.
And it makes a lovely welcome to this part of central Scotland.

So I was surprised to hear on the radio this morning that there have been reports that widflowers are no longer as colourful as they used to be. Several theories have been put forward including the changing nature of insects who no longer demand brightly colured flowers to attract them to the more ominous one relating to some kind of mineral deficiency or pollution.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.