OLD NEWCASTLE

Weather was lovely again today and I went to Newcastle. Got some trousers, a cardigan and 2 pairs of earrings in the Debenhams Sale. And a bag in Cath Kidston - in the Sale too.

I was wondering what to blip and I remembered I had seen this building a couple of weeks ago when I was making my way to Northumbria Uni. So I went back today.

This building was built in 1825 and was originally a Lying - in - hospital for poor married pregnant women. It was not for " fallen " women. On the contrary those who were unable to produce a marriage certificate and baby clothing were turned away as were the homeless and those suffering from anything catching. I wonder where those poor souls went to give birth. The building was used for the original purpose until 1923 and then from 1925 until 1988 it housed the local BBC. It is now office space. It was designed by John Dobson - a famous local architect.

Look LARGE to see the lovely details.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.