ztuzzer

By ztuzzer

Sandele

Sandele was a really interesting eco-friendly and self-sufficient sustainable tourism lodge. Not that I really know much further than that, as we blew off the tour to go play in the sea. Can you blame us though? Look how beautiful it is! Actually, as great as the beach was, I couldn't help but regret not learning more about the retreat, I had thought we would have the tour after but we all needed to eat and then it was too dark. It's an excuse to return I guess! What I do know is that absolutely everything was recycled, from the labels on the beer bottles - turned into jewellery - to the poo in the toilet bowl - used to fertilise the crops! They also held seminars to teach foreign students from Europe, the US and other places on how to be self-sustainable and eco-friendly! All the staff were local towns people and the profits went 75% into development and 25% back in to the local community! The owners, Geri and Maurice were exceptionally friendly and also inspirational people, when I come to retire, I hope to be like them and do something this grand. Check the website out:

http://www.sandele.com/our_story.html

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.