Rosemarie55

By Rosemarie55

Mullein (Verbascum thapsus)

Been meaning to blip my Mullein for a while now, and just got round to it today. It's a hot sunny day again. Yipee! I've had Mullein plants for years - first as a weed that strayed into my garden and then as a Herb when I discovered its potential.
This year's has grown and grown and one plant is taller than me!

Mullein is known by lots of different names and is a biennial. In western USA some people refer to it as "cowboy toilet paper" - probably because of its huge, soft and resilient leaves.

It has been linked to witches, I'm not sure in what capacity although it is supposed to ward off curses and evil spirits.

An infusion of the flowers was used by the Roman ladies to dye their hair a golden colour. Lyte tells us, 'the golden floures of Mulleyn stiped in lye, causeth the heare to war yellow, being washed therewithall,' and according to another old authority, Alexander Trallianus, the ashes of the plant made into a soap will restore hair which has become grey to its original colour. Never tried either of those though!

It is a truly magical plant that can cure just about EVERYTHING!! You can buy Mullein Tea in Health Stores, and Tescos sell Mullein & Star Anise Herbal Tea. Never tried that either - I am not a Herbal Tea fan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.