Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Blooming roses

I noticed that the lavender flowers in the garden are already fading and that there are conkers on the horse chestnut tree! It is only July, that cannot be right? I have enjoyed this little rose bush that flowers constantly throughout summer, so decided to get some photos before they faded too.

Gavin is home again tomorrow - since last Sunday he has been sailing from Southampton across the channel to France, and then across the notorious Bay of Biscay to Portugal. He is getting off at Lisbon and flying home tomorrow but the rest of the crew are continuing to Spain. He has loved his journey though it has been very rough across the Bay of Biscay with high winds and they were forced to be on 2 hour watches all through the night so I think he is very tired as has not has much sleep. There is so much traffic in those waters and they were constantly avoiding tankers and fishing vessels. In addition a large swell through him across the saloon and he has really hurt his shoulder... I am very glad I was not on that journey, it sounds like hell to me but it is just his cup of tea!

Tonight the boys and I are having a quiet night in and will watch the movie The Grand Budapest hotel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.