Lights Out On My Mind, A Poppy Bed I Find

I read in the paper today about the Lights Out project in which some of Britain's most famous buildings will turn out the lights on August 4 to commemorate the moment Britain entered the First World War.

The aim is to achieve a nationwide switch-off from 10-11pm – the hour in which Britain declared itself at war with Germany 100 years ago. Organisers hope every household in Britain will also mark the event, leaving a single light or candle burning for a “shared moment of reflection”.

I shall join in. Whilst my sister and I have been preparing the family home for sale I have been thinking about my grandfather who suffered shell shock, we call it post traumatic stress today. He never recovered and took his own life before I was born.

With these thoughts in mind I drove to my daughter's to paint her toenails in readiness for a weekend away and spotted this bed of poppies on the way. Quite a poignant sight for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.