Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Duck Key

The view of our resort from the catamaran taking us out to snorkel in the coral reef.

My first time snorkelling and I wasn't even sure I'd get off the boat in the middle of a very choppy sea - the descent into the water was hairy but so worth it. It was like swimming with your head in an aquarium - a riot of colours and textures, just amazing. They warned us there were some harmless sharks around so we wouldn't panic. David saw one - I didn't which is probably good as I am not sure I wouldn't have panicked anyway.

Swallowing gallons of salt water and a very bumpy ride back had a predictable effect on most people, but unusually for me I was fine. Surprising as I could get nauseous on a milk float. So I am currently stuffing my face at the villa while the others lie around looking green.

I finally had key lime pie and a margarita last night. Preferred the latter. Then I went to see a phenomenal sunset - so beautiful I didn't realise that standing in long grass at dusk next to water was making me dinner for a million mosquitos. Some very happy bugs full of pie and tequila!

Extremely dull breakfast today - really must do better tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.