hgpayne

By hgpayne

Babe's Bat

This is my whine with Blip: Some days I just don't get an opportunity to get any good shots. I get up, go to work, work until dark, then come home. It's hard to come up with a blip on these days. Today is the opposite. I'm out touring a place I've never been before -- so I have zillions of photos. Different venues and situations. How do I pick "the one?" Even as I write this -- I'm not sure if I chose the best thing to share -- but it's pretty good (in my mind).

Today, among other things, we toured the Louisville Slugger Museum and Factory. There weren't necessarily a lot of displays, but what they had was significant; to a baseball fan, anyway. This photo shows Babe Ruth's bat. The notches you see represent home runs he hit during his record year. From the plaque near the bat:

Babe Ruth carved a notch in this bat for every home run he hit with it in 1927. During that historic season, Ruth smashed a record 60 home runs in 154 games. His mark stood until 1961, when Roger Maris hit 61 homes in 163 games. There are 21 notches carved along the top of the oval logo.

This model G76 (developed by Lou Gehrig) measures 35.5 inches and weighs 40 ounces. It is made from hickory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.