The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Cooper's Meadow, Marlborough

I'd hoped for another look at the water vole on the Kennet, but although it appeared one had laid the table for its supper by placing a bunch of iris leaves across a flat stone in the middle of the river, it was evidently still enjoying its siesta. I'd come to the river via Kennet Place with its floral displays and seen a white and black cat who hadn't quite the hang of camouflage.

Behind the river lies Cooper's Meadow, currently home to some Wiltshire Horn ewes, including the one I've chosen to blip, with their lambs that are crossed with a Hampshire ram. Appropriately, the Lamb Inn was nearby.

I called in again at St George's in Preshute, beside the Kennet and walked along to where I had seen the moorhen's nest. The nest was there but long abandoned, the chicks having presumably fledged.

My return journey took me past Lockeridge Dene where there is a field full of grey wethers, or sarsen stones, and on this occasion there was a herd of mixed breed cattle grazing among the stones.

L.
13.7.2014 (1120 hr)

Blip #1318
Consecutive Blip #180
Day #1557

A Trip To Marlborough, 29 June 2014 (Flickr album)

Lens: Pentax 17-70 mm

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Dolly Parton - Dumb Blonde (1967)
Headlining at Glastonbury this year and going down a storm was Dolly Parton. This was the song that was her first major country hit, peaking at No. 24 on the US charts, from her album Hello I'm Dolly. The title gave rise to her most famous quote when asked if she minded being called a dumb blonde and replied "I'm not offended by all the dumb blonde jokes because I know I'm not dumb", and then added, "- and I also know I'm not blonde."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.