Buckets and Boxes

21.9C and mostly cloudy with a few bright spells. Zephyr.

A quiet day. Through the middle of the day it felt warm and humid. Maeve the Deerhound came with us for a walk and we all got too warm.

I finished reading The Lewis Man, the second book in Peter May's Lewis Trilogy, this afternoon. I read The Black House earlier in the week. In that book there is a scene played out in the very next room to the laboratory where I used to work in the Western Isles Hospital.

I have been reading with the music of the Runrig albums with Donnie Munro on lead vocals playing in the background. I remember buying them all on vinyl in a shop in Stornoway, and wearing out a copy of The Big Wheel that I had on tape, but they have been on CD and digital form this time. While I was reading I could picture the places on Lewis so clearly that sometimes I felt as if it was over 20 years ago and I was back there driving along the roads and walking on the beaches with the characters. I will begin reading The Chess Men this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.