Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Caerphilly Castle Wooden Man

Having published my blip photo of The Supermoon in the early hours of Saturday morning, yesterday seemed like having a holiday from blipping!

Yesterday was a lovely day, and about 12.15pm my son, James, picked me up in his new Honda Civic 2.2 GT diesel car. We made our way to Bath to watch Cardiff City play them in a pre-season friendly. It was all very relaxed and friendly; a boy aged about 11 years asking to search your bag (if you had one) as he sat cross legged on a table. Cardiff changed the whole team at half time, except for the keeper, and with an injury to a player early in the second half, had to play with 10 men. It ended 1-1.

In the evening I settled in to watch the World Cup play off between Holland and Brazil, where Brazil got hammered again. The World is certainly changing! The rain hammered on the conservatory roof and the sky showed no stars or sign of the magnificent moon that had been present 24 hours previously.

Today, the weather was nice again. The rain during the night has saved me the job of watering the pot and bedding plants. They're beginning to look lovely and the colours are enjoyable to look at from the conservatory sofa.

I made my way to Caerphilly Castle and produced my credit card to join CADW, expecting to pay £40 for a years membership. Membership is on offer so that was a nice £10 saving. It gives me access to all their sites and after renewal it's free entry to all English Heritage sites as well. In 4 years time, according to their literature, I'll be a senior citizen! :( It will pay me to become a life member then.

The blip photo is of the wooden man supporting Caerphilly Castle's famous south east leaning tower. It's reputed to be modelled on Gilbert de Clare, also known as "Red Gilbert" because of the colour of his hair,who ordered the building of the castle. No doubt he's trying to stop the castle from going to ruin.....like CADW.

Well, I've blipped, and it's an evening in watching The World Cup Final, Germany v Argentina. It's got to be Germany, for my german friend, and I don't think we get on with the Argies because they think we have their Island.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.