Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Caerphilly Castle Midnight Moonlit Mono Monday

Last night was the second midnight in succession that I've been round the back of Caerphilly Castle. Saturday night was dire with no stars or moon, and the downpour was so great I didn't even get out the car but took this one with the window down. Click here if you a look.

Today, the weather was lovely. I'd watched the World Cup Final, and thankfully Germany won. An hour later, I could see the moon was full and low, so I went back to the Castle. The moon wasn't where I would have wanted, and I wasn't able to get it's reflection in the moat due to vegetation.

The wife is getting used to me popping out at night to get photo's and even asked if I was going tonight. It won't belong before I've got her trained to get used to me getting out of bed in the early hours to get some more night photo's and maybe the occasional sunrise.

This night photography isn't without it's risks. A couple of months ago, about 10pm, I parked near The Magic Roundabout (a Cardiff landmark), Splott, and got out of the car with camera on a tripod to be approached by a lady of the night asking if I wanted business. Why she thought I would need my camera for that, I don't know! Unfortunately, it's sad for these girls to need to do it, but all too common.

The photo facts are that this has only been cropped and changed to black and white. No effects added.

Taken with Sony A7s (full frame) with ISO 50, 30 sec exposure (EV +1) with Voigtlander 15mm manual focus lens set at F4.5 coupled on Voigtlander close focus Leica VM-E mount.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.