Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Castle Coch Courtyard

Today has been lovely in contrast to yesterday. I decided on a visit to Castle Coch, Tongwnlais, near Cardiff, to use my Cadw membership card and get a blip photo. If you live in Wales I can strongly recommend joining Cadw. Their annual adult membership is reduced to £30 and it will give you access to loads of great places and blip opportunities.

Castle Coch holds very fond memories for me. My mothers grandparents often use to bring me and my brothers here in the 1960's to play. And, in June 1999, I got married here.

A brief history for those interested:-
Castell Coch (English: Red Castle) is a 19th-century Gothic Revival castle built on the remains of a genuine 13th-century fortification.
In 1871, John Crichton-Stuart, 3rd Marquess of Bute, ordered the site to be cleared of vegetation and debris while his architect, William Burges, drew up plans for a full reconstruction.
1n 1891, the castle was fully completed. Lady Margaret Crichton-Stuart, did occupy it for a period following the death of the Marquess in 1900.
n 1950, the 5th Marquess of Bute placed the castle in the care of the Ministry of Works. (Now administered by Cadw).
In January 1963, it was designated a grade 1 listed building.


I used a Samyang Fisheye lens with manual focus (180 degree view) F3.5 camera exif as below.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.