CoffeePotter

By CoffeePotter

Super supermoon

I took this photo at about twenty minutes past midnight this morning.

I’m not normally still awake at that time of night – about 10pm is usually my limit nowadays, but for some reason we had stayed up late. When I went to draw the curtains upstairs, there was one of the most fantastic views of the moon that I have ever seen. I took a few photos – all on my phone, and this is one of them.

Evidently last night’s moon is classed as a “supermoon”. The full moons on July 12, August 10 and September 9 are all called supermoons because the centres of these full moons and the centre of Earth are less than 224,851 miles apart. The closest supermoon of the year is the August 10 full moon, because it will be only 221,765 miles from Earth.

Because it’s a supermoon, and relatively close to Earth, the forecast is to be higher tides than usual over the next few days.

We went to a barbeque this afternoon at the home of some friends in the village. It was extremely pleasant, a group of us sitting in the warm sunshine enjoying good food and wine and great company.

I did take a photo of Loosecanon carrying his basket over one arm and looking rather twee, but I thought I’d better stick to the moon for my blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.