Sunny Day in Winter

As you can see it has been a lovely sunny day in Christchurch and on my home home from a meeting I stopped of in the city to get a few shots on my way. I have blipped this area many times, this time I wanted to get the demolition on the Government Life building in the shot to show how the demolition is coming along.

The Government Life building, built in the 1960s, had in the past attracted criticism for looking out of place in Cathedral Square. It has been named the 'Ugliest' City Building and a lot of people are pleased to see it come down.

An entry in the Encyclopedia of New Zealand described it as Christchurch''s first example of a ''modernist glass box''.

The Government Life building is the building between the high-rise and the brick building all warped up in white plastic, where you can see the cranes. They have the roof of now and the top part which had a clock which hasn't worked for many years.

Here is a shot I took back in April of the floods and here is another blip I did in October 2013 when they were taking down the Copthorne Hotel. The area is looking much different now with the buildings gone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.