TynvdBrandhof

By TynvdB

A Dream comes True

A dream comes true. That’s my reaction seeing todays photo. Sometimes I like to sit in that weathered basket chair. Sitting on the shadowy, dry veranda. Maybe, you call it gallery. For me, it’s our veranda. Where you can enjoy the serene coolness on a summer afternoon. In the shadows of the Rose. Our heavy odoring Rose shrub. Through the leafs you can see a part of the town at the other side of the river. Here is the corner of reverie and meditation. It is the place of rest after the Augean Stable is cleaned up now. Maybe it turns out to become a place for poetry of the House.

Next to the chair you see our Flower Tree. Willemien has painted in the jolly colours. We had found this unidentified object - some local traditional ornament for an autumn festivity? - in a second hand warehouse. I saw the possibility to paint it full of cheerful flowers. Instead of the melancholic browns. I had been inspired by the Flower Trees of the Yougoslav - now Kroatian - painter Josip Generalic. I love his work since I visited a survey exposition in Dubrovnik in 1975. Where I was studying philosophy. Generalic work shows a miraculous primitive and simple but honourable farmers life. Naive art, peaceful without signs of the Ugly War still to come.

So, here you can find me on a summer afternoon, reading or gazing through the Roses. Our dream, an old dream has become true in our Carlsheaven Hillside Home. It’s a dream of creative living, integrating practical philosophy, art and poetry. Everything you need for that is already in you. And if someone would call that “naive”, I would confirm that with a grateful heart. Thanks to the Flower Trees of Josip Generalic. And with love to Willemien who worked so hard to get us here in Carlsheaven, painted the Flower Tree and cleaned up our Stables.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.