TynvdBrandhof

By TynvdB

The Magic of Light

It really is a challenge. It still is warm outside. Though it is almost 10 PM. A summer evening and as you can see on the photo: the evening started with big cumuli, towering over the trees that stand close to our terrace. I love the light effects that appear when the sun is partially hidden. There is this magic in the beaming from behind a huge cloud. As there is magic in the darkening, which is growing now at this moment of writing. And I feel it as a challenge to my being grounded in deep faith, as I’m starting to write at such an hour. Not knowing what my theme or subject will be. Still I feel confident that my Journal “is” already conceived. My writing it down will be only the finishing touch.

Not so long ago, this was not the case. I remember feeling desperate and on the verge of total failure, when I started my daily “ homework” at such a late hour. So what has changed in the meantime? Is it a matter of more experience, the fruit of daily exercise? I don’t think it is only a matter of training. No, something deeper has transformed this semi-public way of poietic self-expression and -reflection. In the past in order to feel confident enough to write the opening lines, I would take a favorite text - I must have those reassuring books around… - read and reread a fundamental thought and then...I had enough courage to start the real thing.

But now, though still tempted to follow that very old habit, I decide that what I’m going to write will surface from the unknowable and unfathomable depth of my soul. No use to aim at forknowledge. Impossible, you will have to be patient and follow attentively. Just being confident that nothing complex is going to spoil your explanation. Why? Because in distinction to scientific writing, what matters here is only my personal Truth. And enjoying the freedom of my personal journalism, this Truth is not a matter of any general validity, to be judged in the Light of Reason or Rationality. No, here I’m the free sovereign to let my heart&soul speak up. And you do not need to like it or agree with it or confirm it.

Because what matters in this Journal is only and simply ‘my’ adventure in poiesis, in the play of light and darkness. In the universe as well as in the depth of my soul. What is at stake here is not My Will to Power, but my permanent trying, endeavour, to open up my harnessed mind to give way for a beaming of light and warmth and hope and reciprocal love. To turn against the dark cynicism, the ugly destructivity, the crude lack of compassion of the world. My challenge is to open up for a spirituality which transcends all oppositions between “good and evil” in a higher unity. “Impossible,” you say? Yes, indeed, and my challenge is to deepen my faith in such a way, that we can deal with such an impossibility.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.