TynvdBrandhof

By TynvdB

In Search for Consolation

The evening news has filled my heart with sorrow. This sudden death of so many people on their way to Kuala Lumpur. The deep loss for countless families all over the world. My heart fills with tears, without even wishing to know about causes and backgrounds. I do not pretend to be able to empathize the real depth of the suffering spread by this one and only tragedy. And the world is shocked and trembling daily under the impact of sudden loss by death.

Do we really ever “know” history? The histories of victimization and its fall-out, its survival? On a personal, local scale, in detail and on a broader scale of generations and peoples, nations? Impossible is that idea of empathizing with the suffering of a generalized other, groups, collectivities. But do I want to deny the urgence of deep solidarity here? Of course not. I want to ask this practical existential question:

What would we need beside all the love and compassion of the world to fill our hearts with an encompassing warmth only to pray for alleviation and redemption of all those victims who suffer under their pain? Wouldn’t already that ask for the courageous power of a faith that promises that All Beings Will be saved, or Are already in Safe Hands. Just because all the goodness in my heart alone cannot bear or alleviate the concrete suffering of one of my fellows as a human being. Solidarity not grounded in faith must fail. Historical, societal institutions, Law and the State, necessary as they remain are not sufficient.

Deep Faith is what we as beings among others most definitely need. I do not mean the Church-bound or religious faith I grew up with as a liberal Christian youngster. What I mean refers to what Christ did in preaching and sacrifycing his life. But I’m still growing and maturing in this fundamental faith. I’m learning from Hinduism and Buddhism as well. I need this opening up of my spiritual heart. I do not say that you should need that too. Let every soul follow her or his unique own way. To be able to reinforce that impossible solidarity to bear and alleviate the suffering of our fellows, known or anonymous. In the deep faith that all will be saved, and all will be well. To begin with all those who suffer in todays armed conflicts or those who were on their way to Kuala Lumpur.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.