Elvingston Stud

By elvingstonstud

Well Earned Smile

Another ridiculously busy day at the yard. Had my vet this morning to castrate a yearling colt who was getting a bit too amorous with the fillies! The op was straight forward & Jack-Jack is recovering well.

Ellen, who was on work experience from the college earlier this year, has taken a share on my 3 year old homebred gelding Rocky. We have been slowly bringing him on from the ground & I sat on him yesterday for the first time. Today was Ellen's turn and it all went perfectly. I was bursting with joy for her, a huge achievement & milestone with her horse! That'll be a moment that will stay with her for the rest of her life.

I worked Quarters, my partner's 3 year-old, later on this afternoon & he was excellent, I love how quickly youngsters come on. However I was reminded how equally quickly things can be unpicked while working with a client's horse that I've recently been lunging. She clearly has been encouraged in the wrong direction through lack of handler understanding, and my achievements with her have been unravelled. Depressing but fixable - do love my job but can be so frustrating at times!

Home to a baked sweet potato, up for foal watch during the night so am away to bed! (might have just one biscuit first...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.