Snowy Egret

This is not the best picture, but I like the "painterly" quality that came from drastically cropping it. In its simplicity and color, it suggests a Japanese painting to me. The egret was fishing in a very shallow dam, actually running along the bottom and catching bugs on the run.

Dana is always saying , as we're planning some garden project or another, that Jim is always perfectly happy with "good enough", while she expects nothing less than perfect. I suppose I would have to say that my response would be, "perfect is subjective" although I think I tend to be more like her than Jim (or OilMan, for that matter).

I'm guessing that as individuals, and as societies, we would probably all be a lot happier if , at least sometimes< we could live with "good enough".

While OilMan filling up his car with petrol, I got out to take a picture (of a Hopper moving and storage van with a kangaroo on the side) just as a big pickup truck crashed into an SUV which was turning into the 7-Eleven driveway across the street. Or was it the other way around? Police say witnesses are notoriously bad at reporting what they just saw. OilMan wasn't sure what he saw. What I saw was the truck pulling into the same driveway with a great screeching and belching of smoke, and the damaged SUV driving away. By the time the pickup ground to a halt halfway into the driveway, one wheel was at an odd angle and about to fall off, and the SUV was nowhere to be seen.

What our brains register in the moment can change in unpredictable ways over time. I've heard that our brains tend to "make things up" to fill in the gaps in our memories. I know that my mind is capable of changing the way I remember something, or even adding things to a memory of an experience that actually never happened!

They say that humans are the only species that can create stories and relationships out of abstract images. Call it art or empathy or intuition, the way we see and think about and remember things is fascinating. and endlessly confusing and complicated.

But isn't that what makes life interesting?


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.