creative lenna

By creativelenna

she listened to her inner voice

Index Card a Day #45/61

I took this card outside to photograph as the light is usually much better outside. I wanted the coconut palm fiber (example here) I used to be seen in the best possible light. (more texture in large). When we first moved to Florida in 2010, we rented a house that had lots of coconut palms in the yard. I often found pieces of coconut fiber on the ground. I loved it's texture and how it resembled fabric. I also enjoy using found objects in my art. There were so many interesting pieces that I picked up a few. This one was still in my box of scraps some 4 years and 2 house moves down the road!

The white textured handmade paper I placed at the top of the card under the fibers was hand made by someone else, but the bright orange paper with the star shape punched out was a brown paper bag that I painted with Lumiere paint a few years ago. I used this paper for a handmade bead swap I hosted in 2012 and this was a leftover scrap. The more colorful piece on the left with the date on it was a piece of fabric-paper I learned how to make courtesy of my friend Frieda -Art Quilter here on blipfoto :)) The words I found looking through a magazine, smiling as I clipped them out!

If you are so inclined, I shared ICAD #44 of my index card art yesterday and wrote a bit about what this challenge has done for me.
You can also see all of my ICADs here. Thank you!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.