Compost Mentis

By megatonlove

The dulce de leche winter cure

Winter finally got to me this weekend. I like the cold very much - the colder and snowier the better, but lack of sunlight can be a downer to an island girl. One way I remedy this is to bake something that reminds me of home, to wit: one dulce de leche cake, and some dulce de leche macaroon-type thing. On such dreich days, dulce de leche conjures the torpor of my islands and the snugness of my grandmother's lap. I'm five, and it's always sunny.


The cake recipe is here: http://arunathetemptations.blogspot.com/2009/03/condensed-milk-pound-cake.html. (Hm, does anyone know how to shorten links on Blip?)
I used dulce de leche rather than condensed milk, so my cake is darker than the one in the recipe.

The dulce de leche macaroony things were thrown together on the spur of the moment. As usual, I forgot to take measurements or write anything down. I'm not even sure what to call them, but they have coconut, almonds, crushed speculoos biscuits, cocoa powder and dulce de leche in them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.