Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

One thousand ninety five Little Moments...

Today marks my third year on Blip, my 1095th day of posting a photo. I missed my second day, so today is only my 1,094th consecutive blip...

I thought quite a bit about what I wanted to blip today and while it was very, very tempting to go with a hummingbird, I decided instead to take a walk along the lake and let my eyes pick the shot. When I think about what it's meant to me to take photos every day for 3 years, I reflect on how differently I see the world around me now. And, not only do I see things that I never used to notice, but I've learned so very much. Oh, yes, I've learned more about photography, of course. But I've also learned about birds and insects and plants and a host of other things that I never used to pay a bit of attention to.

So when I went out, I thought I might blip a dragonfly - after all, 3 years ago I knew only that those big things were dragonflies ... I certainly didn't know any of their names or that damsels were different than dragons. And, if I'd seen this creature, I would have probably let out a small shriek and swatted at it. However, today, as I was crouched along the trail, camera pointed at this fascinating creature, I knew that 1) it was a robber-fly, and 2) that it was ovipositing! Yep, I know that word now, and can use it in a sentence. How about that?

So, this is my celebratory blip - a robber-fly laying eggs. It captures exactly what I want to remember today - that I have learned much, and that I have much to learn. And if you'd like to see some of the other creatures I encountered on my walk today, have a look at 8 photos that I've posted HERE on Flickr.. They include both sex and predation...as well as some things of beauty.

Now, a bit about Blipfoto ... when I first arrived here, I didn't have a plan. But I was warmly welcomed and before I knew it, I'd reached 30 blips, then 100, then 200 ... and well, you know the rest. I have had the great pleasure of meeting some of you in person, and I've made some wonderful friendships. You've encouraged me, laughed with me and occasionally cried with me, and I can't think of a nicer group of people to hang out with. So, yes, I think I'll stick around!

In other news, we decided to lower the price on our house. And only two more sleeps until Hubs is home for the weekend!

Thank you, people.

Debbi

PS: if you have a minute, please stop in and wish one of my favorite blippers Paladian a Happy Blipday - today is her 730th!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.