Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Redcurrant Jelly

It is a very long time since I made redcurrant jelly or jelly of any kind, but inspired by Annieone and with a small amount of redcurrants, yesterday I decided to give it a go. In my wisdom and being a lazy sort of person, I decided to try this recipe from Delia as the thought of stripping all the berries from the stalks almost made me give up before I had started. I had my doubts about this recipe, but felt there was not much to lose if it went wrong. It was a disaster, the jelly set before much of it had drained through! I rescued it this morning by boiling the whole lot up again and straining it very quickly through a sieve. This is the result, two little pots of redcurrant jelly ready for the table. It is quite a soft set, but tastes fine; I was not expecting much of a yield with the small amount of currants I had available. There are some more currants in the garden, which are not quite ripe; I shall be using the old fashioned method for the next lot!

This afternoon Victoria came to help and we did some work in two of the borders, she also did a lot of watering for me as once again it is very hot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.