Majoayee

By Majoayee

Gugelhupf

This is for the Friday group tomorrow!

I was given this recipe many years ago by an Austrian lady. I used to babysit her children with mine when they were small.  She gave me the mould too!

Three of my friends have had to have chemotherapy at different times and I used to make them one of these cakes to eat at that horrible stage when everything tastes of metal!

Here is the recipe should anyone be interested.

4 egg yolks + 1 whole egg
10 oz sugar
6 oz butter (really soft - c 40 secs in microwave)
Vanilla sugar/essence
8oz self raising flour
1/4 teasp. Baking powder
7tablespoons milk

Beat sugar and eggs
Add rest   Short mix
Hot oven shelf just below centre of oven, gas mk 5 for 50 mins
(Check after 40 and cover if too brown, it may be cooked.  Test with a skewer needs to come out clean)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.