WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

A novel and a glass of wine

A bit of a cop-out, sorry, but it's the only photo I took all day and it will do for the Blip book club!

Too hot to achieve much: I got my hair cut, did some work, made one of my best ever sourdough loaves, watered the garden, and managed to talk to S, who has been suffering from the heat too. In the last two days his feet have suddenly come out in blisters, to the extent that he's been taking painkillers for them. I guess his feet have swollen in the heat and are getting rubbed where they weren't before. Still, we have a rendezvous tomorrow -- hurrah!

The book is one I'm reading mainly because it's set in the beautiful Baztan Valley in Navarra, near where our friend Georgina lives. It's a detective novel/thriller with supernatural elements, the second volume of a trilogy, and not the type of thing I normally read. It's good Spanish comprehension practice though, as the style is reasonably straightforward. I read the first volume back in April, and after the first fifty pages or so I no longer needed to look many words up. Not great literature, but a little out of the ordinary. Translation rights have been sold to 15 countries, and apparently the producer who filmed the Stieg Larsson novels has bought the rights. But if you want to read it in English, it looks as if you'll have to wait till next year for the first volume.

Soundtrack for this evening: Vladimir Horowitz playing Scarlatti.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.