WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Good news and bad news

Many people seemed to find Amazon's Prime Day on Wednesday a bit of a dud. I wasn't one of them, because as I browsed through less than enticing deals, I spotted a Sony RX-100 (as used by earthdreamer) due to come on sale in an hour. An hour later I was back ... 60% off? My mouse whizzed towards the Buy button without a second thought. It arrived today, so I charged the battery while I was out swimming, and then went out and took some random photos (blip -- my first photo).

For such a tiny camera, I am really impressed with the quality (see also the extra for sharpness and detail). I've never yet found a compact camera I was happy with, but I took some comparison photos indoors with my Olympus, and the results from the Sony on auto settings were significantly better, once I'd got my head round the focusing. It really does fit in a pocket, whereas the Olympus has grown so much I need a capacious handbag. I'm nearly always disappointed with the results I get with it in low light too -- a bit of a problem since it's the camera I take to social events when I want to be discreet. The only downside to the Sony is lack of a viewfinder, but the screen seems nice and bright.

On the bad news front. I heard back from Nikon. They told me to reset to defaults (already tried that) and check the firmware was at least 1.02 (it is). Otherwise it's back to base for repair :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.