Future Wreaths fodder

A corner of one garden bed here features a newly planted (this spring) Black-eyed Susan, the blue petals to the left could belong Canterbury Bells. Actually, I have never used the fragile blooms in a dry arrangement. I have just been deadheading them. The bulbous seed heads look well when dried when taken whole stemmed.
And dancing about throughout with lavender and white flowers is common oregano. This not only dries well for culinary purposes but decoratively too.
I've watched a DVD show with a famous northern Italian cook named Lydia. In her village they have always cut long stems of oregano when in bloom and with the leaves on. They are wrapped with string and dried. Then when needed for pasts sauce or whatever, the bunch is taken off the wall or wherever it is stored and gently tapped on the edge of the pot until sufficient leaves drop in the sauce or soup.
Perhaps whenever you are traveling (and cooking?) next in Italy you might look in their outdoor markets for these herb bundles. That is where Lydia bought her oregano bundle.
Now I make my own bundles (long or short) in July and August. I wrap them with colourful, narrow ribbons and hang them up to dry. Also, send them to friends far away who do not grow their own oregano or sweet marjoram. Unfortunately, mint does not hold up so well. The leaves shatter easily. I wonder what else might bundle up? Of course the flowers of lavender dry into 'wands' in this manner...
Since this seems to be a European cooking device I wounder if any of my fellow blipping friends do this with their fresh herbs?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.