With mountains like these

By Sollergirl

Much love

It has been a tiny bit hot today and so by three I was ready to down tools. Scooby has either felt the heat too or has decided to calm down a lot, which is a huge blessing.

I found myself in an information dilemma. The more my head found out about the Malaysian Airways plane with all those loving families and talented people on board and the equally loving families and children of Gaza, of those Israelis who want nothing to do with any of the violence, the desperate plight of it all, the less my heart wanted to know. As I don't really watch television and haven't normally been able to listen to the news as it happens, I confess I have kept myself in a slight state of removal. I have to keep going for my family here, but all my Dutch friends are grieving and in a state of shock. Well I joined them all today.

On a brighter note, Marnix gave me a call to say that he and Maria de Lluc were going to put on their wedding clothes again to reenact a photo of Maria's grandparents on their back steps of the same house. I realise now I should have taken a quick copy of the original from theirs to compare. It was hard to get the expressions right, as they kept smiling, but the book was the same as were the postures and the place. Lovely to be part of it.

I have let Agustin run off to be part of the local fiesta Estiradors, with a Pa amb Oli supper and karaoke, which I will no doubt hear. I have retreated to the house as I was a bit achy, thought the dog wouldn't like the noise and really just thought I would get away from everything a little. I am feeling so very grateful I can let him do that in safety and a loving neighbourhood.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.