Hill Top Ramblings

By janepetleyjones

And so it begins......

Wedding cake stage one. Take 3kg of fruit, soak in half a bottle of sherry for 3 days (the fruit, not me).
Mix cake using 10 eggs and one giant spoon.
Transfer to very large cake tin and manoeuvre into the bottom oven of the AGA.
The recipe says "bake for 5 - 15 hours" which is helpful if a little vague!
Should I put it in and go to bed to lie there wondering if it is burning?
Should it go in first thing and risk being up all night anyway?

Well, I have put it in and will sleep well knowing that at least I have made a start on this rather daunting task.

I did in fact have a little practice at square icing at work and was pleased with the result, although it was only a 6" cake!

Sophie excitedly counts down the number of days to go on Facebook, and I think we are down to 43 now - plenty of time to get layers 2, 3 and 4 baked and finished don't you think?

I sure hope this one comes out ok!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.